What’s New, Pussycat? Wo-oh-oh-oh-oh-OH-oh.

Of course we all feel essentially the same about Egypt’s Wonderful Revolution.  I’m sure no words of mine can express our joy better than can a static camera in Tahrir Square.

However, completely coincidentally, I came across the following YouTube video, which sort of makes me feel the same way:

First of all, Tom Jones is a lot like Henry Fonda.  You might remember them as performers who were great — in their own time.  Competent, entertaining; they fulfilled the slot they were meant for.

But then you see them again.  Tom singing “It’s Not Unusual,” or “What’s New Pussycat?”  Henry flinging the switchblade onto the table in Twelve Angry Men, or stumbling over himself to follow Barbara Stanwyck in The Lady Eve. Anything they did, really.  and you realize they weren’t just great in their time; they were timelessly great.

Then, if you’re about my age, you may have possessed a little vinyl 45 rpm recording of “The Fool on the Hill,” not the Beatles version, but the one by Sergio Mendes and Brasil ’66.  I heard this record before I even knew it was a Beatles song (I was waaaay out of it in those days, way out of it.)  I danced to Sergio and his brilliant band a thousand times, imagining that I was the one no one understood.  I was the fool.  (Half right, as it turned out.)

So when this video came across my desktop, I was stunned.

I danced again, alone in my room, while I watched a whole country turn a corner.

Thank you, Tom and Sergio.  And Power to the People.  Right on.

About hipstersmother

Writer, Teacher, Observer, Amateur Therapist, Killer of All Things Grown in Pots, Living Room Comedian
This entry was posted in Proleitics, Something is Boring Me But I Don't Know What (Entertainment). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s New, Pussycat? Wo-oh-oh-oh-oh-OH-oh.

  1. Beth Clary says:

    All I can say, is those were the days…

Leave a Reply

